The 183rd General Court
2003-2004 Massachusetts Senate
Positions on reinstatement of the death penalty

Last updated October 8, 2004

Name Party District DP Position
For reinstatement?
18 Y / 22 N
Vote on

21 Y / 16 N
Nuciforo, Andrea D Berkshire, Hampshire & Franklin N N  
Menard, Joan D 1st Bristol & Plymouth N    
Montigny, Mark D 2nd Bristol & Plymouth N N  
Sprague, Jo Ann R Bristol & Norfolk Y Y  
O'Leary, Robert D Cape & Islands N    
Baddour, Steven D 1st Essex N    
Berry, Frederick D 2nd Essex Y   Majority Leader. Absent due to illness on 11/15/99.
Tarr, Bruce R 1st Essex & Middlesex Y Y  
Tucker, Susan D 2nd Essex & Middlesex N N  
McGee, Thomas D 3rd Essex & Middlesex N   Senate Chair, Criminal Justice Committee
Melconian, Linda D Hampden Y Y  
Lees, Brian R 1st Hampden & Hampshire Y Y Minority Leader
Knapik, Michael R 2nd Hampden & Hampshire Y Y  
Rosenberg, Stanley D Hampshire & Franklin N N President pro tempore
Panagiotakos, Steven D 1st Middlesex Y Y  
Shannon, Charles D 2nd Middlesex Y Y  
Fargo, Susan D 3rd Middlesex N N  
Havern, Robert D 4th Middlesex N N Voted "Y" in 1997.
Tisei, Richard R Middlesex & Essex Y Y  
Creem, Cynthia D 1st Middlesex & Norfolk N N Criminal Justice Committee
Magnani, David D 2nd Middlesex & Norfolk N N  
Barrios, Jarrett D Middlesex, Suffolk
& Essex
N   Voted "N" in House.
Resor, Pamela D Middlesex & Worcester N N Voted "N" in House in 1997 and 1999.
Brown, Scott R Norfolk, Bristol
& Middlesex
Y   Ninth Norfolk Rep. Scott Brown won the March 2, 2004 Special Election for the seat vacated by Senator Cheryl Jacques.
Joyce, Brian D Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth N N  
Morrissey, Michael D Norfolk & Plymouth Y Y Criminal Justice Committee
Murray, Therese D Plymouth & Barnstable Y Y  
Pacheco, Marc D 1st Plymouth & Bristol Y Y  
Creedon, Robert D 2nd Plymouth & Bristol N N Criminal Justice Committee
Hedlund, Robert R Plymouth & Norfolk Y Y Criminal Justice Committee
Hart, John D 1st Suffolk Y   Voted "Y" in the House in 1997, 1999 and 2001.
Wilkerson, Dianne D 2nd Suffolk N N  
Travaglini, Robert D 1st Suffolk & Middlesex N N President
Tolman, Steven D 2nd Suffolk & Middlesex N N  
Walsh, Marian D Suffolk & Norfolk N N  
Chandler, Harriette D 1st Worcester N   Voted "Y" in House in 1997 and 1999, but has stated that she is now opposed.
Glodis, Guy D 2nd Worcester Y Y  
Brewer, Stephen D Worcester, Hampden,
Hampshire & Franklin
Y Y  
Antonioni, Robert D Worcester & Middlesex N N Criminal Justice Committee
Moore, Richard D Worcester & Norfolk Y Y  


Please send updates and corrections to

[Return to main Massachusetts page]